Sunday, December 31, 2017


Q: Ceftaroline has been called fifth generation cephalosporin because it has added activity against?

A) Methicillin-resistant Staphylococcus aureus (MRSA)
B) Pseudomonas aeruginosa
C) Neisseria gonorrhoeae
D) Klebsiella
E) Moraxella catarrhalis

Answer: A

Ceftaroline and ceftobiprole are the only two fifth generation cephalosporins known.

This took care of criticism on cephalosporins of being "LAME" - as they had  no activity  against Listeria, Atypicals (including Mycoplasma and Chlamydia), MRSA, and enterococci.

Further reading is at the link of the reference.


1. Duplessis C, Crum-Cianflone NF. Ceftaroline: A New Cephalosporin with Activity against Methicillin-Resistant Staphylococcus aureus (MRSA). Clinical medicine reviews in therapeutics. 2011;3:a2466. doi:10.4137/CMRT.S1637.


No comments:

Post a Comment