Tuesday, October 30, 2018

6 components of SOFA score

Q: Which component of coagulation profile is part of SOFA (Sequential Organ Failure Assessment) score? 

 A) PT 
 B) PTT 
 C) Platelets 
 D) D-Dimer 
 E) Fibrinogen level 


 SOFA score is one of many scoring systems used to calculate a patient's status during the stay in an intensive care unit (ICU). The SOFA score is based on six different scores, one each for the respiratory, cardiovascular, hepatic, coagulation, renal and neurological systems. Scores less than 9 give predictive mortality at 33% while above 11 can be close to or above 95%.

  • Respiratory system - P/F ratio
  • Cardiovascular system - the need of vasopressors
  • Hepatic system – the bilirubin level
  • Coagulation system – the platelet count
  • Neurologic system – the Glasgow coma score
  • Renal system – the serum creatinine or urine output 

Clinically, it is used to predict the risk of mortality before instituting aggressive treatment plans like ECMO. It is found to be superior to various other scores specific for various disease processes.

It can be accessed from any search engine on the internet.



1. Vincent JL, de Mendonça A, Cantraine F, et al. Use of the SOFA score to assess the incidence of organ dysfunction/failure in intensive care units: results of a multicenter, prospective study. Working group on "sepsis-related problems" of the European Society of Intensive Care Medicine. Crit Care Med 1998; 26:1793.

No comments:

Post a Comment