Thursday, October 4, 2018

Types of Hepatorenal syndrome

Q: Which of the hepatorenal syndrome is considered more serious? (select one) 

 A) Type 1 
 B) Type 2

Answer: A

Hepatorenal Syndrome is classified into Type 1 and Type 2 on the basis of the rapidity of the decline of renal function, and clinical signs.

Type 1 is considered more serious as decline happens quickly with oliguria and rise in creatinine 
within 10-14 days.

Type 2 is a slow and insidious process marked by the ascites which is resistant to diuretics.




Arroyo V, Ginès P, Gerbes AL, et al. Definition and diagnostic criteria of refractory ascites and hepatorenal syndrome in cirrhosis. International Ascites Club. Hepatology 1996; 23:164.

Ginès P, Schrier RW. Renal failure in cirrhosis. N Engl J Med 2009; 361:1279.

No comments:

Post a Comment