Thursday, October 10, 2019

Hinchey classification system

Q: Hinchey classification system is for which disease?

A) Perforated peptic ulcer
B) Perforated diverticulitis
C) Perforated appendicitis
D) Perforated esophagus
E) Perforated tympanic membrane

Answer: B

Almost all patients with free perforated diverticulitis need surgical intervention. But the choice of techniques depends largely on level of peritoneal contamination. Hinchey described stages of perforated diverticulitis almost 40 years ago and is still considered a standard: 

  • Stage I – Pericolic or mesenteric abscess 
  • Stage II – Walled-off pelvic abscess 
  • Stage III – Generalized purulent peritonitis 
  • Stage IV – Generalized fecal peritonitis



Hinchey EJ, Schaal PG, Richards GK. Treatment of perforated diverticular disease of the colon. Adv Surg 1978; 12:85.

No comments:

Post a Comment